Skip Navigation


Chartered Agriculturalist scheme (CAg)

The industry-first Chartered Agriculturalist (CAg) scheme launched in 2018 as a ‘whole of industry’ accreditation program, to recognise professional competencies such as ethics, business management and governance, communication, industry engagement and leadership.

The scheme also provides aspiring, next generation leaders a target to set for their professional status both internal and external to the Australian agricultural sector.

What is a Chartered Agriculturalist (CAg)?

Chartered Agriculturalists are recognised as industry leaders in agriculture. They demonstrate expertise, professional experience, relevant accreditation and certifications and a practical knowledge of ethics and professional accountability.

Chartered Agriculturalists have the skills, knowledge, competency and recognition to identify and work through the complex issues and work with leaders in other organisations to provide research-backed information that balances the different issues that our sector faces.

Being a CAg demonstrates:

  • You provide advice that is reputable, credible, accurate, and reliable;
  • You have proven leadership skills;
  • Your focus and commitment to meeting client expectations through problem solving;
  • Your high level of commitment to professional development;
  • Your understanding of industry ethics and accountability;
  • Your high levels of knowledge and experience in a specific field, gained through professional experience at a senior level and/or formal qualifications;
  • You have met an industry standard, that will in future form the basis of government recognised standing for agricultural professionals.

 More information is available in the Chartered Scheme Handbook.

Applications Now Open

CAg certification is by application only. Both existing AIA members and non-members are welcome to apply. Non-members will have current membership or accreditation with another professional organisation such as Soil Science Society of Australia, Crop Consultants Australia, Agronomy Society of Australia etc.

CAg applicants are required to complete the online application form as well as the online Ethics Exam. Your application will be reviewed by the AIA assessment committee and you will be notified of their decision.

If you are interested in CAg, please note the following before applying:

  • The requirements and criteria for CAg membership, including minimum qualification and experience levels, are outlined in more detail in the Base Technical Document. Pages 14-17 are particularly useful.
  • The online Application Form includes long-form questions about your professional experience and qualifications, meeting professional standards in business, and evidence of reflective learning. Please take the appropriate time.
  • The online Ethics Exam is completed through ClassMarker. It takes approximately 60 minutes to complete and can be done at a time convenient to you. To prepare for the Ethics Exam, we recommend:

If you have any questions about CAg, please email

To apply for CAg, click here.

Membership Fees

For current members of AIA:

  • The cost to apply for CAg is $350, to cover administrative costs and the exam fee. 
  • Once you are CAg, the annual membership fee is $675.
  • If you have already paid your AIA membership fees for this year as a CPAg, you will only pay the application fee. Then, next year, your annual fee will be for CAg.

For non-members of AIA:

  • If you are not currently a member of AIA, to be certified as a CAg you must also have current membership or accreditation of a professional organisation e.g. Soil Science Society of Australia, Crop Consultants Australia, Agronomy Society of Australia.
  • The cost to apply for CAg is $350, to cover administrative costs and the exam fee. 
  • Once you are CAg, the annual membership fee for non-AIA members is $250, as long as you provide us with current proof of membership or accreditation of the professional organisation.

How is CAg different to CPAg?

CPAg is the AIA’s Certified Practicing Agriculturalist scheme. Both schemes are important professional gradings. But they serve different purposes and recognise professionals at different stages of their careers.

The cornerstone of the CPAg scheme is recognising members’ continuing professional education. 

The CAg program takes this significantly further with additional criteria that must be met. Members holding CAg status are recognised as industry leaders in agriculture. CPAg is an important stepping stone towards CAg certification.

Click here for more information on CPAg.


Certified CAg members can use the post-nominals CAg after their name and the distinctive CAg logo on their professional materials such as email signature, website, business cards and stationary. On request, you will receive a certificate of recognition issued by the AIA and signed by the Chair of the AIA Board.  

In addition, AIA will market and promote the value of its CAg program and value-add of its members’ achievements as a CAg.  

More information

View the Chartered Scheme Handbook.

View the Base Technical Document which outlines the process and requirements of CAg in more detail.

If you would like further information about the CAg scheme or have any questions about your application, please email

Applications now open.

CAg in the Media

The AIA launches chartered accreditation (GRDC GroundCover January-February 2019)

Significant impact on agriculture from Banking Royal Commission says AIA (Farm Business February 2019)

Agricultural Professional Accreditation Officially Launched (Media release 11 December 2018) (Grain Central May 2018) (Grain Central November 2018) (Stock Journal December 2018)